What Results? Can Eat One?

I have been so entrenched in working life that I forgot that today is exam grades release. My friend from NTU whatsapped me this morning to wish me all the best and I was like “Results?! What?!” No wonder I slept so well last night.

Moving on to a larger picture – Results, honors grades classification, grades, marks….. I realised that they don’t matter to me at the end of the day. This status encapsulates the change in my mindset after being subjected to over a decade thereabout of Singaporean education. Sorry, I just had to add in the adjective “Singaporean”.

image

With regards to that comment, I didn’t get that “good” results as compared to other cohort mates. Of course there would be 1 or 2 modules that play the role of a letdown every semester. In the past I would be so upset and beat myself over it. But this time I was nonchalant. Seriously, who cares what you have learnt in school? Your 4000 word essays/ Final year project/ Independent Study Modules/Thesis is not going to secure you a career (unless you want to go into academia but that is another story because no one cares what the shit academics are doing).

But your attitude is. Job hunting is a test of persistence and resilience. Your career is actually fragile – not in a sense where you get fired when you made a mistake, but more of allowing the stress to get the better of you and quitting on yourself.

Started with 100% enthusiasm and passion for History. Graduated with none. I have to thank my working experiences (past and present) for providing me with a direction in life.

TLDR, I can’t be arsed to type a long ass post because no one likes to read and digest 25,000 words. Ciao!

Leave a comment